The Non-profit Entity

Behind SPAN: the Minnesota SPAN Association

The Student Project for Amity among Nations was founded post WWII by a group of students determined to find a way to improve international relations. Their notion: travel abroad to promote cross-cultural understanding while, at the same time, earn college credits by delving deeply into a research project based upon one’s self-chosen topic. In 1947, SPAN was born.

As a student organization based on the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities campus, the students formulated a constitution, created bylaws, and elected officers. In time, this self-governing student group evolved into, not only a “recognized” student group on campus, but a formal, 501[c]3 non-profit organization as well. Today, SPAN, while still a student organization, it is also the non-profit entity known by its legal name as the Minnesota SPAN Association.

The Association serves in an advisory capacity to SPAN, the academic program, which offers students from all colleges and universities in Minnesota college credit for undergraduate research overseas. The Association, on the other hand, solicits contributions from SPAN alumni. These monies are used for the operational expenses of SPAN, but, more importantly, the donations are used to provide scholarships to outbound SPANners.

SPAN executive board

All current and former members of the Student Project for Amity among Nations (SPAN) are welcome to attend meetings of the executive board of the Minnesota SPAN Association, recognized as Minnesota-based 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

Members of the current SPAN executive board (2013-2014) are as follows:

Tim McDonald, Russia 2012, president

Kay Leeman, Great Britain, 2012, vice president

Becky Lietzau, South Africa, 2013, finance&scholarship committee chair

Alec Albright, Russia 2012

Teresa Callies, Greece 1988

Maggie Hofius, Russia 2010

Dean Lund, Sweden 1950

Janet Thomas Lund, England 1950

John Mazis, Greece 1995

Jacqueline Stein, France 2013

Kay Thomas, Greece 1962

Charlaine Tolkien, Uganda 1967

Michelle Weiss, South Africa 2013

Richard Wicklund, Ghana 1961

Matthew Miller, advisor, Russia 2010, 2012, 2014

August Nimtz, advisor, Cuba/Puerto Rico 2014

Melisa Riviere, advisor, Cuba/Puerto Rico 2014

Andrew Carlson, advisor, South Africa 2013

John (Kim) Munholland, advisor, France 2013

Theofanis Stavrou, executive director

Evelyn Anderson, administrative assistant, Morocco 1962

Susan Wiese, development & special projects, Kenya 1972